Project

Virtual coal exit with TRIM4Post-Mining

EU project for recycling former mining areas

Many European partners from industry and science are working together in the “TRIM4Post-Mining” project. The common goal: an integrated planning tool for the transition from coal extraction to intelligent reuse.

How do you turn a former mining area into a revitalized landscape? What has to happen to prepare these areas for innovate reuses? The "TRIM4Post-Mining" project helps to simulate such scenarios comprehensively. Together with European experts from industry and research, the Research Center of Post-Mining is developing an integrated information modeling system. This system allows the virtual planning of mine closures and coal exits - from active mining to the smart reuse after a shutdown. This should also help to recover valuable materials from old dumps in the lignite and the hard coal industry. The scientists of the Research Center of Post-Mining work closely with the TU Freiberg, the TU Delft and the companies Beak Consultants, MIBRAG, Special Industries and Eijkelkamp SonicsSampdrill. The project is part of the EU-funded Research Fund Coal and Steel (RFCS).

Modern surveillance systems such as satellites, high-resolution drone images or multi-sensors are used in this project. Even virtual and augmented reality help to optimize the new use of mining areas. The experts also want to analyze the dynamic processes in tailings heaps, deformations or geochemical processes in the subsurface. At the end there is an interactive TRIM (Transition Information Modeling System) that enables a detailed risk management.

Not only the technical effects of post-mining can be simulated – the planning system is also able to check the social and ecological feasibility individually. In this case, the experts identify areas that have to be specially renovated or monitored over the long term. With "TRIM4Post-Mining" they want to simplify comprehensive planning processes and test procedures.

This project has received funding from the Research Fund for Coal and Steel under grant agreement No 899278.

Contact

Dr.-Ing. Dipl.-Wirt.Ing. Stefan Möllerherm

Technische Hochschule Georg Agricola University
Herner Str. 45
44787 Bochum
Building 2, room 104a

Phone 0234 968 3272
Mail stefan.moellerherm@thga.de

Projekt

Virtueller Kohleausstieg mit TRIM4Post-Mining

EU-Projekt zum Recycling ehemaliger Bergbauflächen

Im Projekt „TRIM4Post-Mining“ arbeiten viele europäische Partner aus Industrie und Wissenschaft zusammen. Ihr Ziel: ein integriertes Planungstool für den Übergang von der Kohlengewinnung zur intelligenten Nachnutzung.

Wie wird aus einer ehemaligen Bergbaufläche eine wiederbelebte Landschaft? Was muss passieren, damit die Areale neu genutzt werden können? Das Projekt „TRIM4Post-Mining“ soll helfen, solche Szenarien künftig umfassend simulieren zu können. Gemeinsam mit europäische Experten aus Industrie und Forschung entwickelt das FZN ein integriertes Informationsmodellierungssystem, mit dem sich der Abschied von der Kohle virtuell planen lässt – vom aktiven Abbau bis hin zur Nachnutzung der stillgelegten Bergbaufläche. Dies soll auch dazu beitragen, wertvolle Materialien aus alten Halden der Braun- und Steinkohleindustrie zurückzugewinnen. Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des FZN arbeiten hier eng zusammen mit der TU Freiberg, der TU Delft sowie den Unternehmen Beak Consultants, MIBRAG, SPECTRAL Industries und Eijkelkamp SonicsSampDrill. Das Projekt ist Teil des EU-finanzierten Research Fund Coal and Steel (RCFS).

Moderne Überwachungssysteme wie Satelliten, hochauflösende Drohnenbilder oder Multisensoren helfen dabei. Sogar Virtual und Augmented Reality sollen zum Einsatz kommen, um die Neunutzung von Bergwerksarealen zu optimieren. So wollen die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler auch die dynamischen Prozesse in Bergehalden, Verformungen oder geochemische Prozesse im Untergrund analysieren. Am Ende steht ein interaktives TRIM, also ein „Transition Information Modeling System“, das es ermöglicht, detaillierte Vorhersagen zu treffen und daraus ein Risikomanagement abzuleiten.

Nicht nur die technischen Auswirkungen des Nachbergbaus lassen sich so simulieren, auch die soziale und ökologische Machbarkeit soll das Planungssystem später individuell überprüfen können. Auf diese Weise lassen sich auch Bereiche identifizieren, die besonders saniert oder langfristig kontrolliert werden müssen. Mit „TRIM4Post-Mining“ wollen die Nachbergbau-Experten umfassende Planungsprozesse und Prüfverfahren vereinfachen.

Weitere Informationen in unserem Video und auf der Website:
www.trim4postmining.com

This project has received funding from the Research Fund for Coal and Steel under grant agreement No 899278.

Kontakt

Dr.-Ing. Dipl.-Wirt.Ing. Stefan Möllerherm

TH Georg Agricola
Herner Str. 45
44787 Bochum
Gebäude 2, Raum 104a

Tel 0234 968 3272
Mail stefan.moellerherm@thga.de

Hernan Flores, M.Sc.

TH Georg Agricola
Herner Str. 45
44787 Bochum
Gebäude 2, Raum 206

Tel 0234 968 3807
Mail hernan.flores@thga.de