Research focuses

Perpetual tasks and minewater management

The Research Center of Post-Mining is a place where innovative processes are developed with a focus on water as a natural resource, and on the so-called “perpetual tasks”. Through our investigations, we are creating a comprehensive understanding of the hydrological systems of one-time mining environments as a pre-requisite to the sustainable management of minewater, groundwater and surface waters. We are seeking to comprehend the processes in detail, in order to identify specific solutions and be able to reconcile the needs of people with those of the environment. This is the only viable approach to the near-nature reshaping of the management of water resources in former mining regions – including for future generations.

Projects

Expert

Project

Expert

Geomonitoring in post-mining

How can we observe and monitor the legacies of mining? The research focus of geo-monitoring in post-mining explores this very issue. Here the Research Institute of Post-Mining develops technical systems and modern methods perfectly tailored for monitoring post-mining activities. For this purpose, our researchers combine highly diverse types of geo-information, and use this to create detailed 3D models – sometimes even 4D once time components are added. This technique can be used to detect methane gas emissions, near-surface cavities, and changes in the environment. The long-term purpose of our innovations is to digitally simulate potential processes, and create a viable risk management system for the post-mining phase.

Projects

Expert

Material sciences

We are investigating the ageing processes of metals and synthetic materials, and we apply our findings to the preservation of industrial culture. This includes not just abandoned collieries, coking plants and blast furnaces, but also individual machines and equipment made from a wide variety of different materials and substance combinations. States are assessed by recording environmental influences and developing new investigation techniques. In the best-case, the process of decay is not merely retarded, but completely stopped. This research focus sees the Research Institute of Post-Mining work closely with the material scientists from the Deutsche Bergbau-Museum Bochum. Deutschen Bergbau-Museums Bochum zusammen.

Project

Expert

Reactivation and transition

We want to make former mining regions fit for the future. But just how can we plan this transformation? At the Research Institute of Post-Mining, we analyse the political, economic and legal frameworks needed to successfully reactivate former industrial locations and their infrastructures. In doing so, we consider regional and municipal objectives, as well as the involvement of the general public. In this way, we create the foundations for establishing new residential districts and business parks, recreational areas or renewable energy facilities in places where raw materials were once mined. Our activities are especially directed towards organisations and associations concerned with the issue of structural change, including cities and municipalities, public authorities and the EU. Our experience can also benefit other countries facing similar tasks in the future.

Project

Expert

Projects

Monitoring system "Mineberry"

Minewater monitoring

OCT project for non-destructive material testing

RE-ACTIVATE

Density stratification

Joint monitoring in the post-mining setting

Effects of minewater ascent on methane emissions from the coal mines

Our publications

Active knowledge management is one of the most important parts of our remit. Here is a list of our publications in the exciting field of post-mining.

List of publications

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Ewigkeitsaufgaben und Grubenwassermanagement

Am Forschungszentrum Nachbergbau entstehen innovative Verfahren und Methoden für die Ressource Wasser. Dazu gehören die Entwicklung von Wasseranstiegsmodellen, Untersuchungen zur energetischen Nutzung von Grubenwasser und Methan sowie Verfahren zur Wasseraufbereitung. Mit unseren Forschungen schaffen wir ein ganzheitliches Verständnis des hydrologischen Systems ehemaliger Bergbauregionen und machen damit einen nachhaltigen Umgang mit Grubenwasser, Grundwasser und Oberflächengewässern überhaupt erst möglich.

Projekte

Experte

Projekt

Experte

Geomonitoring im Alt- und Nachbergbau

In diesem Forschungsbereich erarbeitet das FZN technische Systeme für das Monitoring postmontaner Aktivitäten. Ziel ist es fernerkundliche Verfahren mit Robotik und Sensortechnik auf der Tagesoberfläche zu kombinieren. So lassen sich Methanausgasungen ebenso aufspüren wie oberflächennahe Hohlräume. Langfristig zielen unsere Entwicklungen darauf ab, die Risiken digital zu modellieren bzw. zu simulieren und ein belastbares Risikomanagement für Bergbaufolgen zu schaffen. Somit können künftig alle wesentlichen Prozesse im Nachbergbau effizient beobachtet, analysiert und Präventionsmaßnahmen gezielt eingeleitet werden.

Projekte

Experte

Materialwissenschaften

Wir untersuchen die Alterungsprozesse von Metallen und Kunststoffen und tragen so dazu bei, Industriekultur zu erhalten. Darunter nicht nur stillgelegte Zechen, Kokereien oder Hochöfen, sondern auch einzelne Maschinen und Geräte, die aus den unterschiedlichsten Materialien und Materialkombinationen bestehen. Zur Bewertung der Zustände werden Umwelteinflüsse erfasst und neue Untersuchungs- und Monitoringverfahren entwickelt. So kann der Zerfall bestenfalls nicht nur verlangsamt, sondern sogar ganz gestoppt werden. In diesem Forschungsschwerpunkt arbeitet das FZN eng mit Materialwissenschaftlern des Deutschen Bergbau-Museums Bochum zusammen.

Projekt

Experte

Reaktivierung und Transition

Wir wollen ehemalige Bergbauregionen wieder fit für die Zukunft machen. Doch wie lässt sich der Wandel planen? Wie lassen sich Potentiale nutzen? Das FZN analysiert in diesem Forschungsschwerpunkt die politischen und rechtlichen Rahmen, die für eine erfolgreiche Reaktivierung von Infrastrukturen, Flächen, Halden und anderen Hinterlassenschaften des Bergbaus nötig sind. Dabei kommen auch sozio-ökonomische Aspekte und raumplanerisches Denken zum Tragen. Unsere Aktivitäten richten sich vor allem an Organisationen, die sich mit einem Strukturwandel befassen, darunter Städte und Gemeinden, regionale Behörden oder die EU. Von dem Know-how profitieren auch Länder, die in Zukunft vor ähnlichen Aufgaben stehen.

Projekt

Experte

Projekte

Monitoring-System Mineberry

Grubenwasser-Monitoring

OCT-Projekt zur störungsfreien Materialprobe

Abtrennbarkeit von Schadstoffen aus Grubenwasser

RE-ACTIVATE

Dichteschichtung

Gemeinsames Monitoring im Alt- und Nachbergbau

Auswirkungen des Grubenwasseranstiegs auf die Methanausgasung aus den Steinkohlenbergwerken

Unsere Publikationen

Aktives Wissensmanagement gehört zu unseren wichtigsten Aufgaben. Hier finden Sie unsere Publikationen rund um das spannende Forschungsfeld Nachbergbau.

Zur Publikationsliste