Guidelines for the extraction of raw materials: Dr. Stefan Möllerherm advises EU Commission

By 27. January 2021#!28Wed, 10 Feb 2021 09:51:15 +0100p1528#28Wed, 10 Feb 2021 09:51:15 +0100p-9Europe/Berlin2828Europe/Berlinx28 10am28am-28Wed, 10 Feb 2021 09:51:15 +0100p9Europe/Berlin2828Europe/Berlinx282021Wed, 10 Feb 2021 09:51:15 +0100519512amWednesday=365#!28Wed, 10 Feb 2021 09:51:15 +0100pEurope/Berlin2#February 10th, 2021#!28Wed, 10 Feb 2021 09:51:15 +0100p1528#/28Wed, 10 Feb 2021 09:51:15 +0100p-9Europe/Berlin2828Europe/Berlinx28#!28Wed, 10 Feb 2021 09:51:15 +0100pEurope/Berlin2#News

When it comes to drawing up Europe-wide recommendations for the extraction of raw materials, the experience of many experts is needed: Since December 2020, the Research Centre of Post-Mining has been involved in the working group "Risk management in the extractive sector" of the Directorate-General Environment of the European Commission, advising on strategies to ensure environmental protection and maintain the quality of life for EU citizens.

In December 2020, Dr.-Ing. Dipl.-Wirt.Ing. Stefan Möllerherm, research administrator at the FZN, was appointed as an "Individual Expert" for the Technical Advisory Group "Risk management in the extractive sector" of the Directorate-General Environment of the European Commission. In total, 70 members representing EU member states are in this expert group. It consists of industrial associations, the geological services of the respective member states, NGOs, and other individual experts.

"When drawing up EU guidelines for the extraction of raw materials, it is necessary to think about the entire life cycle and especially the time after the extraction itself," explains Dr. Stefan Möllerherm, who has an extensive knowledge of the international mining industry and has been dealing with the consequences of raw material extractions for many years.

The experts advises the European Commission on drafting recommendations for the extraction of raw materials in Europe and focuses in particular on occupational safety, health, and environmental protection. The documents shall cover the entire life cycle of all raw materials, such as metal ores, noble metals, and bulk raw materials, with the exception of the oil and gas industry. The guideline aims to identify the best approaches for long-term risk management - especially with regard to a sustainable approach to the environment and occupational safety.

Dr. Stefan Möllerherm is particularly acquainted with environmental problems resulting from the active mining period. "The cessation of mining does not imply that its life cycle is ending. Only then, the post-closure period starts and with it a necessary responsible approach to the consequences for people and nature". This includes all processes and tasks that arise after the extraction of the natural resource - from managing risks of former mining activities to the rehabilitation and recultivation of former mining areas. In addition to geoecology and mine water management, this also includes geomonitoring and the reactivation of former mining regions. The associated environmental and safety issues are also a constant companion of this process and will be considered in the future by Dr. Stefan Möllerherm in the Technical Advisory Group "Risk management in the extractive sector" of the Directorate-General for the Environment of the European Commission.

Dr. Stefan Möllerherm from FZN (left) is an appointed "Individual Expert" of the Technical Advisory Group "Risk management in the extractive sector" of the Directorate General Environment of the European Commission. (Photo: THGA/Volker Wiciok) (Photo: THGA/Volker Wiciok)

Contact

Dr.-Ing. Dipl.-Wirt.Ing. Stefan Möllerherm

Technische Hochschule
Georg Agricola University
Herner Straße 45
44787 Bochum

Building 2, room 104a

Phone 0234 968 3272
Mail stefan.moellerherm@thga.de

en_USEN

Richtlinien für den Abbau von Rohstoffen: Dr. Stefan Möllerherm berät EU-Kommission

By 27. Januar 2021Februar 10th, 2021Neuigkeit

Wenn es darum geht, europaweit geltende Richtlinien für den Abbau von Rohstoffen zu erstellen, braucht es die Erfahrung vieler Experten: Seit Dezember 2020 wirkt das Forschungszentrum Nachbergbau an der Arbeitsgruppe „Risk management in the extractive sector” der Generaldirektion Umwelt bei der Europäischen Kommission mit und berät dabei über Strategien, die den Umweltschutz gewährleisten und die Lebensqualität von EU-Bürgerinnen und -Bürgern erhalten sollen.

Im Dezember 2020 wurde Dr.-Ing. Dipl.-Wirt.Ing. Stefan Möllerherm, Forschungsadministrator am FZN, zum „Individual Expert“ der Arbeitsgruppe „Risk management in the extractive sector” der Generaldirektion Umwelt bei der Europäischen Kommission ernannt. Insgesamt sind in dieser Arbeitsgruppe 70 Vertreter der EU Mitgliedstaaten. Sie speisen sich aus Industrieverbänden, den geologischen Diensten der jeweiligen Mitgliedsstaaten, NGOs und weiteren „Individual Experts“.

Die Arbeitsgruppe berät die EU Kommission bei der Erstellung von Richtlinien für den Abbau von Rohstoffen in Europa und richtet ihren Fokus insbesondere auf den Arbeits-, Gesundheits- und Umweltschutz. Die Richtlinien sollen den gesamten Lebenszyklus aller Rohstoffe, wie Metallerze, Edelmetalle und Massenrohstoffe abdecken, ausgenommen ist die Öl- und Gasindustrie. Das Regelwerk zielt darauf ab, die besten Ansätze für ein langfristiges Risikomanagement zu identifizieren – vor allem im Hinblick auf einen nachhaltigen Umgang mit der Umwelt und die Arbeitssicherheit.

„Bei der Erstellung von EU-Richtlinien für den Abbau von Rohstoffen ist es notwendig, den gesamten Lebenszyklus und insbesondere die Zeit nach der Rohstoffgewinnung mitzudenken“, erklärt Dr. Stefan Möllerherm, der die internationale Bergbaubranche bestens kennt und sich seit vielen Jahren mit den Folgen der Rohstoffförderung auseinandersetzt.

Mit Umweltproblemen, die aus der aktiven Zeit des Bergbaus resultieren, kennt sich Dr. Stefan Möllerherm besonders gut aus. „Das Ende des Bergbaus bedeutet nicht, dass dessen Lebenszyklus abgeschlossen ist. Erst dann erfolgt die Zeit des Nachbergbaus und mit ihr ein verantwortungsvoller Umgang mit den Folgen für Mensch und Natur“. Dieser umfasst alle Prozesse und Aufgaben, die nach der Gewinnung der natürlichen Ressource anfallen – vom Risikomanagement ehemaliger Bergbauaktivitäten bis zur Sanierung und Rekultivierung von ehemals bergbaulich genutzten Flächen. Dazu gehören neben der Geoökologie und dem Grubenwassermanagement außerdem das Geomonitoring sowie die Reaktivierung ehemaliger Bergbauregionen. Auch die damit einhergehenden Umwelt- und Sicherheitsfragen sind ein stetiger Begleiter dieses Prozesses und werden künftig in der Arbeitsgruppe „Risk management in the extractive sector” der Generaldirektion Umwelt bei der Europäischen Kommission von Dr. Stefan Möllerherm stets mitgedacht.

Dr. Stefan Möllerherm vom FZN (li.) wurde zum „Individual Expert“ der Arbeitsgruppe „Risk management in the extractive sector” der Generaldirektion Umwelt bei der Europäischen Kommission ernannt. (Foto: THGA/Volker Wiciok)

Kontakt

Dr.-Ing. Dipl.-Wirt.Ing. Stefan Möllerherm

Technische Hochschule
Georg Agricola
Herner Straße 45
44787 Bochum

Gebäude 2, Raum 104a

Telefon 0234 968 3272
Mail stefan.moellerherm@thga.de

de_DEDE