The history of mining is long - but the history of post-mining will be much longer. We help to shape it!

For five years now, we at the THGA´s Research Center of Post-Mining have been working intensively on the questions that mining leaves us. With our comprehensive investigations, we make former mining regions fit for the future. We are also becoming more and more complex and discover new chances in old shafts.

Since 2015 the Research Center has been pooling the necessary know-how to shape the consequences of mining in a technically, economically and environmentally friendly manner. In our interdisciplinary team around 40 independent experts in mining, geology and geo-technology, mineral deposit science, hydrogeology, chemistry, electrical and information technology, materials science, land development, mine surveying and economics, all working closely together. This is the core around which a broad, inter-disciplinary network has been established within Germany.

Rather than just preserve knowledge, we want to put it to new purposes! That is why the Research Center produces highly regarded studies and scientific publications every year.
More than 100 scientific publications have been published in the last five years. We also share our latest findings at specialist conferences, are involved in working groups and committees and advise affected regions on structural change. This is how we create an integrated knowledge management with foresight.

Our cutting-edge research in the field of post-mining is in demand worldwide. After all, more and more countries are interested in a sustainable approach to active and former mining sites. Ideas and technologies for innovative subsequent uses or for long-term monitoring of mining consequences can be marketed globally. Because of that we are in constant dialogue with our with our international partners - from Europe through Asia to Pretoria (South Africa) around 9,000 kilometers away. And the findings we arrive at here, also contribute to making future minig processes more environmentally-friendly and sustainable.

We work closely with (former) mining companies, authorities, water and regional associations, industrial companies, engineering service providers and international and national universities. Here we carry out important contract research and prepare independent reports. During the last 5 years we have processed more than 50 sovereign and economic projects. In doing so, we are constantly identifying new research questions that drive us to investigate post-mining in all of its facets.

Post-mining is complex - that's why we are too! In the beginning, our focus was still on researching the so-called perpetual tasks of the hard coal mining industry, but we have expanded our focus to this day. From our integrative approach result four research areas: Perpetual tasks and minewater management, Geomonitoring in post-mining, Materials science for the preservation of the industrial heritage as well as Reactivation and transition.

New brochure

In our new bilingual brochure, we introduce you to the many facets of our research. Find out on almost 30 pages what Post-Mining actually means and how we practice active knowledge management. Our FAQs also give you a good overview of the most important questions about perpetual tasks, mine water & Co.

Outlook

What will happen to the Research Center? What are the future challenges? Read the interview with Prof. Dr. Ulrich Paschedag. Interview mit Prof. Dr. Ulrich Paschedag.

 

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Paschedag

“Post-mining is no ivory tower.”

 

Prof. Dr. Peter Goerke-Mallet

"We need a standardized management of mining legacies."

 

Prof. Dr. Christian Melchers

"Eternity lasts 25 years. Then new ideas will be called for in any case."

 

Prof. Dr. Tobias Rudolph

"Post-mining is a big puzzle to me."

 

Prof. Dr. Michael Prange

"But not everything can be preserved."

Contact

Carmen Tomlik
Technische Hochschule
Georg Agricola University
Public relations
Herner Straße 45
44787 Bochum
Building 2

Phone 0234 3230
Mail carmen.tomlik@thga.de

en_USEN

Die Geschichte des Bergbaus ist lang – doch die Geschichte des Nachbergbaus wird deutlich länger. Wir gestalten sie mit!

Seit fünf Jahren beschäftigen wir uns im Forschungszentrum Nachbergbau an der THGA intensiv mit den Fragen, die uns der Bergbau hinterlässt. Mit unseren umfassenden Untersuchungen machen wir ehemalige Bergbauregionen fit für die Zukunft. Dabei werden auch wir immer vielschichtiger und entdecken neue Chancen in alten Schächten.

Seit 2015 bündelt das Forschungszentrum Nachbergbau das nötige Know-how, um die Folgen des Bergbaus technisch, ökonomisch und umweltverträglich zu gestalten. In unserem interdisziplinären Team arbeiten inzwischen rund 40 unabhängige Expertinnen und Experten aus Bergbau, Geologie und Geotechnik, Hydrogeologie, Chemie, Elektrotechnik, Materialwissenschaften, Flächenentwicklung, Markscheidewesen und Wirtschaftswissenschaften zusammen. Um diesen inneren Kern hat sich ein breites Netzwerk gebildet – national wie international.

Wir wollen unser Wissen nicht nur bewahren, sondern neu anwenden! Darum entstehen am Forschungszentrum Nachbergbau jedes Jahr vielbeachtete Studien und wissenschaftliche Publikationen.
Mehr als 100 Veröffentlichungen sind in den letzten fünf Jahren zusammengekommen. Unsere neuesten Erkenntnisse teilen wir außerdem auf Fachtagungen, engagieren uns in Arbeitskreisen und Ausschüssen und beraten betroffene Regionen zum Strukturwandel. So betreiben wir ein integriertes Wissensmanagement mit Weitsicht.

Unsere Spitzenforschung im Bereich Nachbergbau ist weltweit gefragt. Schließlich interessieren sich immer mehr Länder für einen nachhaltigen Umgang mit aktiven und ehemaligen Bergbaustandorten. Ideen und Technologien für innovative Folgenutzungen oder zur langfristigen Überwachung von Bergbaufolgen lassen sich global vermarkten. Darum stehen wir in ständigem Dialog mit unseren vielen internationalen Partnern – von Europa über Asien bis ins rund 9000 Kilometer entfernte Pretoria (Südafrika). Unsere Erkenntnisse helfen auch, künftige Bergbauprozesse umweltfreundlicher zu gestalten.

Wir arbeiten eng mit Bergwerks- und Altgesellschaften, Behörden, Wasser- und Regionalverbänden, Industrieunternehmen, Ingenieurdienstleistern und internationalen wie nationalen Hochschulen zusammen. Hier leisten wir wichtige Auftragsforschung und fertigen unabhängige Gutachten an. In den vergangenen 5 Jahren haben wir als Forschungszentrum Nachbergbau mehr als 50 hoheitliche und wirtschaftliche Projekte durchgeführt. Dabei identifizieren wir laufend neue Forschungsfragen, die uns weiter antreiben, den Nachbergbau in all seinen Facetten zu untersuchen.

Der Nachbergbau ist vielschichtig – darum sind wir es auch! Lag unser Fokus anfangs noch darauf, die sogenannten Ewigkeitsaufgaben des Steinkohlenbergbaus zu erforschen, haben wir uns bis heute noch breiter aufgestellt. Aus unserem integrativen Ansatz ergeben sich vier Forschungsbereiche: Ewigkeitsaufgaben und Grubenwassermanagement, Geomonitoring im Alt- und Nachbergbau, Materialwissenschaften zum Erhalt und zur Neunutzung des industriellen Erbes sowie Reaktivierung und Transition.

Neue Broschüre zum Download

In unserer neuen zweisprachigen Broschüre stellen wir Ihnen die vielen Facetten unserer Forschung vor. Erfahren Sie auf knapp 30 Seiten, was Nachbergbau eigentlich bedeutet und wie wir aktives Wissensmanagement betreiben. Unsere FAQs geben Ihnen zusätzlich einen guten Überblick über die wichtigsten Fragen rund um Ewigkeitsaufgaben, Grubenwasser & Co.

Ausblick

Wie geht es weiter mit dem Forschungszentrum Nachbergbau? Was sind die Herausforderungen der Zukunft? Lesen Sie hier das Interview mit Prof. Dr. Ulrich Paschedag.

 

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Paschedag

„Nachbergbau ist kein Elfenbeinturm.“

 

Prof. Dr. Peter Goerke-Mallet

„Wir brauchen ein standardisiertes Management von Bergbaufolgen."

 

Prof. Dr. Christian Melchers

„Ewigkeit dauert 25 Jahre, danach wird ohnehin neu gedacht.“

 

Prof. Dr. Tobias Rudolph

„Nachbergbau ist für mich ein großes Puzzle.“

 

Prof. Dr. Michael Prange

„Man kann nicht alles bewahren.“

Kontakt

Carmen Tomlik
Technische Hochschule
Georg Agricola
Kommunikation Forschungszentrum Nachbergbau
Herner Straße 45
44787 Bochum
Gebäude 2

Tel 0234 3230
Mail carmen.tomlik@thga.de

de_DEDE
de_DEDE en_USEN